Marc Jacobs Beauty “Magic Marc-er Precision Pen Waterproof Eyeliner – REVIEW

s1505213-main-zoom

This product I actually hated at first, I’ll tell you why. Obviously the packaging of the product is gorgeous, the sleek design and shine, it looks very high-quality and beautiful in addition to the clever “marc-er” play-on-words name. I was very loyal to my “Tattoo Liner” by Kat Von D so I was already hesitant to find something that would be comparable or even better. The pen tip itself is similar to the “Tattoo liner” in shape and style, though I will say I think you can get a more thin line with the Kat Von D product than this Marc Jacobs liner, it is hard to get a very slim line. Im not a pencil thin line liner girl anyway so that wasn’t a deterrent for me but for those of you who prefer liner that really just sits at the water line, this brush might be a little thick for you. The black color that Marc Jacobs Beauty calls “blacquer” is in fact a deeper black color than the “Tattoo Liner” in my opinion, it almost makes the “Tattoo Liner” have an almost brown/metallic sheen to it in comparison. I love the easy application of this pen; it is comfortable to hold in the hand and makes even the most amateur make-up users able to complete a nice winged liner (I would think). However, the waterproof aspect of this product is such a love/hate for me. I love that it stays on all day and remains a deep black color, but I hate how difficult it is to take it off at night. Taking it off at night is actually why I hated it at first, I used it a couple times and decided to retire it. It wasn’t until a friend of mine swore by it that I thought I’d give it another shot. I love the product so much that I endure the scrubbing with makeup wipes at the end of each day just to use it. I think its the easy application and deep dark all-day lasting color that helps me forget that at the end of the night I have a good 5-10 minute of wiping to do. If you have a life and have things to do and don’t have time then this might not be for you- but honestly I do highly recommend you at least give it a chance. At a whopping $30 it’s a financial investment but I feel that it lasts a few months and it’s just amazing.
Ingredients:
Water, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol, Polyester-5, Pvp, Laureth-4, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Citric Acid, Black 2 (Ci 77266).
(I have no affiliation with the brand or company discussed)
(photo taken from Sephora.com)
Leave a Reply

